The Woman In Paris Who Walked Her Cat – Short Story Reading by Joe Kilgore. Performed by Danielle Nicole

Watch The Woman In Paris Who Walked Her Cat

Get to know writer Joe Kilgore:

What is your 1pg Short Story about?

Remembrance of a strange encounter.

What genres would you say this short story is in?

Mainstream literary. Drama/Crime

How would you describe this story in two words?

Quietly shocking.

What movie have you seen the most in your life?

Lawrence of Arabia

How long have you been working on this story?

A day or two.

Do you have an all-time favorite novel?

Under The Volcano

What motivated you to write this story?

Fame and fortune, not necessarily in that order

What artist would you love to have dinner with?

Edward Hopper

Apart from writing, what else are you passionate about?

Movies

What influenced you to enter the 1pg. Short Story contest?

The challenge of saying a lot in a little space.

Any advice or tips you’d like to pass on to other writers?

Write what you’d like to read.

Advertisements

The Sisters’ Story, Short Story Reading by D.L. Gardner. Performed by Danielle Nicole

Watch THE SISTER’S STORY:

Get to know writer D.L. Gardner:

1. What is your 1pg Short Story about?

Two orphaned sisters in the early 1900s find their purposes in life.

2. What genres would you say this short story is in?

Adventure Fantasy

3. How would you describe this story in two words?

Bitter sweet

4. What movie have you seen the most in your life?

Ever After

5. How long have you been working on this story?

This story only took an evening to write.

6. Do you have an all-time favorite novel?

*Universal Mirror by Gwen Perkins.

7. What motivated you to write this story?

*I wrote this story about three months ago as an introduction to the characters in my novel Cassandra’s Castle.

8. What artist would you love to have dinner with?

Michael Hague

9. Apart from writing, what else are you passionate about?

I love nature, the mountains on a warm summer’s day, the coast on foggy evenings, the desert on a starry night, and the river early in the morning when the fish are biting. I also love to paint in oils, and to listen to music.

10. What influenced you to enter the 1pg. Short Story contest?

I thought it was time to get my work out in front of new eyes, find new readers.

11. Any advice or tips you’d like to pass on to other writers?

Study the craft of writing. Learn all you can and then more and read!

Novel Reading: EXOTIQA, Chapter 1 by M. Black. Performed by Danielle Nicole

M. Black’s blog:
http://mblackdystopiathrillers.blogspot.ca/

Watch Chapter 1 Reading of EXOTIQA:

TYPE OF STORY: 80,000 word YA Dystopian Robotic Thriller

-SYNOPSIS: When sixteen-year-old Fione meets Maci, a twenty-one-year-old Flexbot who escapes from ImaTech located along the crust of the Coast Mountains, Fione’s life is taken on a roller-coaster ride of events that begins with trying to save Maci from ImaTech Corporation and ends with trying to save the country.
With Fione’s best friend and love interest, a Flexbot named Pix, Fione and Maci must come face-to-face with the greatest dangers their country has ever seen and learn the disturbing secrets of the popular online program Exotiqa—which her friends, family, and most of the country has downloaded onto their Cerebral Slabs. This won’t be easy, since Maci’s only love and great enemy, nicknamed Thirty, is tracking her every move.

Get to know writer M. Black:

1. What is your novel about?

My novel takes the reader to 2055 where intelligent Flexbots live with us in our daily lives. Many Flexes begin to become more human like as humans become more robotic, blending the line between the two.

When Fione meets Maci, a Flex, she realizes she must save her from Imatech before they destroy her. Fione ends up realizing her world is in danger too by Imatech’s latest program Exotiqa, which has been downloaded into most people’s Cerebral Slabs.

With Pix, a fellow Flex friend to help Fione, and Thirty, a Flex tracker on Maci’s trail, saving the planet becomes much more complicated.

2. Why should this novel be read by people?

Anyone interested in artificial intelligence, robots and consciousness will be intrigued by this story. Questions of life and death, consciousness and programing, politics and love keeps the reader intellectually curious within the framework of an entertaining story that will appeal to fans of Divergent and IRobot.

3. How would you describe this novel in two words?

Robotic Originality

4. What movie have you seen the most in your life?

Pride and Prejudice

5. How long have you been working on this novel?

A good year

6. Do you have an all-time favorite novel?

Divergent

7. What motivated you to write this novel?

The current state of robotics, social injustice, and an uncertain future

8. What artist would you love to have dinner with?

Gustav Klimt

9. Apart from writing, what else are you passionate about?

Traveling, cultures, art, dancing

10. What influenced you to enter the Novel Festival?

Saw the ad and it looked cool

11. Any advice or tips you’d like to pass on to other writers?

Write because you love it and write what you love.

 

****

Director/Producer: Matthew Toffolo

Editor: John Johnson

Casting: Sean Ballantyne